Faculty recognized for hard work and dedication

Austin Svehla, Staff Writer

Three Wayne State professors were recently recognized with annual teaching awards handed out at the faculty and staff spring meeting on March 29. Each faculty member was recognized for their hard work and dedication to the college and its students during the 2018-2019 academic year. The three award recognitions include the Balsley-Whitmore Teaching Excellence Award, the Student Senate Professor of the Year Award and the WSC Teaching Excellence Award.

Dr. Stephanie Marcellus was selected as the recipient of the Balsley-Whitmore Teaching Excellence Award for the second time at Wayne State, after receiving the award for the first time in 2014. The funding endowment of the award was established by Howard Balsley and Irol Whitmore Balsley. The annual award is given to a faculty member who teaches English and embodies the teaching mission of Wayne State.

“I really enjoy how the classes I teach give me an opportunity to get to know students as individuals, as they share their writing in workshop,” Marcellus said. “It’s wonderful to watch their creativity and writing skills develop across the semester.”

Dr. Marcellus received her Bachelor of Arts (English) degree from Wayne State College, her Master of Arts (English) degree from the University of Nebraska at Kearney, a Master of Fine Arts (Creative Writing) degree from Colorado State University and a Ph.D. (British Literature) from the University of South Dakota. She has been at Wayne State since 2012, and teaches Fiction Workshop, Creative Nonfiction Workshop and Advanced Creative Nonfiction Workshop.

“I received my undergraduate education at WSC and had an excellent experience and was eager to apply when I noticed a job opening in my field,” Marcellus said. “My mother attended college here in the 1950s, and my grandmother in the 1920s, so I’ve always felt a connection to the campus that goes beyond my own experience as well.”

Dr. Lindsey Doctorman was recognized as Student Senate Professor of the Year. Student Senate said that there were many nominees for the award, but Dr. Doctorman’s dedication to learning, aptitude for developing relationships with students and excellent work ethic put her “above the bar.”

“I am very honored,” Doctorman said. “To get any award is a great honor, but to get it coming from the students means more than anything. I think it’s the highest award you can get in this profession.”

Dr. Doctorman is in her second year at WSC and is an assistant professor in economics teaching Principles of Micro/Macro Economics. She is an adviser for economics, agri-business and international business and also teaches courses under those descriptions. She received her Bachelor of Arts (Business Economics) from Minnesota State University Moorhead and earned her Master’s and Ph.D. in Agriculture and Resource Economics at Colorado State University.

“[My favorite part about teaching] is challenging students to think about things in different ways,” Doctorman said. “Instead of trying to figure out what you want to do, try to figure out what you don’t want to do. Try a lot of different things and try things you wouldn’t think you would try. Say yes in instances when maybe you would say no.”

Donald Buryanek was announced as the State Nebraska Bank and Trust Teaching Excellence Award recipient. David Ley, chairman of the State Nebraska Bank and Trust board, established the award in 1998 to recognize the importance of teaching to the mission of serving students, communities and Nebraska by providing high quality, accessible educational opportunities. The Teaching Excellence Award’s recipient is selected by the WSC Board of Trustees annually.

Buryanek is an assistant professor and teaches solid modeling, architectural drafting, surveying and print-reading and cabinetmaking at Wayne State College. He is the chair of the Wayne Nebraska Area Habitat for Humanity. Buryanek will be presented the award at commencement on May 4 in the Willow Bowl.